Have You Ever Had A Stranger Tell You That They Never Will Forget You?

Raoul Eiseman
3 min readJan 24, 2021

Whenever I am in public I watch people around me and sometimes listen to their conversations that are near me. I have had six or eight strangers thank me and say “I will never forget you.” in different situations over many years.I was in a restaurant with my wife and as I always do, watch the workers and the other patrons. At the end of our meal I ask the African American college aged man if I could speak to him. I started by saying I am going to tell you my impression of you and what the future has in store for you.

When you walk out from the kitchen you do not just take care of your customers because you are aware of what is happening in the whole restaurant. When you fill our water or coffee you do the same for everyone in the restaurant as you genuinely smile and greet them and ask if they need anything else. When you walk back to the kitchen you look for and carry dirty dishes whether it is your customer or not. You walk and speak rapidly because your pace is fast so you are more productive than other people you work with and that comes naturally for you as you are not aware of yourself compared to others. Look where the other waitresses are and he looked about and saw the standing behind the counter visiting. I said they have mostly been standing there hardly doing anything as you without thinking about it want to stay…

--

--